Skip To Main Content

Commerce Secretary Gutierrez Congratulates 2004 National Medal of Technology Laureates

Commerce News Logo


Contact: Dan Nelson/Ginny Justice

Tuesday, November 15, 2005



Commerce Secretary Gutierrez Congratulates
2004 National Medal of Technology Laureates
Innovators Revolutionized Communications, Education, Entertainment,
Medicine, and Transportation


U.S. Secretary of Commerce Carlos M. Gutierrez today congratulated the recipients of the 2004 National Medal of Technology, the nations highest honor for technological innovation.

I join President Bush in congratulating the 2004 National Medal of Technology laureates, said Gutierrez.  Their creativity and willingness to take risks to achieve technological breakthroughs have helped make America the leader in innovation.

The 2004 National Medal of Technology laureates announced by President Bush include two individuals and five companies.  A date for the White House ceremony will be announced in the future.

Individual Awards:

Ralph Henry Baer, Engineering Consultant, Manchester, NH.  Mr. Baer is being recognized for his groundbreaking and pioneering creation, development, and commercialization of the world of interactive video games.  His efforts have helped spawn huge industries in both entertainment and education.

Roger Lee Easton, RoBarCo, Canaan, NH.  Mr. Easton is being recognized for extensive pioneering achievements in spacecraft tracking, navigation and timing technology that led to the development of the NAVSTAR-Global Positioning System (GPS).

Company awards:

Gen-Probe Inc., San Diego, CA.  Gen-Probe is being recognized for the development and commercialization of new blood testing technologies and systems for the direct detection of viral diseases.

Microelectronics Division of IBM, New York, NY.  The Microelectronics Division is being recognized for over four decades of innovation in semiconductor technology, including the development and introduction of the DRAM cell, copper wiring, silicon on insulator (SOI) technology, and high speed silicon germanium devices.

Industrial Light & Magic, San Francisco, CA.  ILM is being recognized for over 28 years of innovations in visual effects technology for the motion picture industry.

Motorola, Inc., Schaumburg, IL.  Motorola is being recognized for over 75 years of technological achievement and leadership in the development of innovative electronic solutions, which have enabled portable and mobile communications to become the standard across society.

PACCAR Inc, Bellevue, WA.  PACCAR is being recognized for its pioneering efforts and industry leadership in the development and commercialization of aerodynamic, lightweight trucks that have dramatically reduced fuel consumption and increased the productivity of U.S. freight transportation

Background: The National Medal of Technology, bestowed by the President since 1985 as the nations highest award for innovation, was mandated by Congress in 1980 to recognize the significant contributions that America's leading innovators have made to the nation's economic strength and standard of living.  A distinguished, independent committee appointed by the Secretary of Commerce evaluates the merits of all candidates nominated through an open, competitive solicitation process.  Committee recommendations are forwarded to the Secretary, who makes recommendations to the President for a final decision.  The Technology Administration administers the National Medal of Technology program.  Additional information is available at